The Unique History of Coquina Key
Coquina Key was not always known as Coquina Key. In the late 1800’s, it was known as “Goat Island” although it was a peninsula. Around 1920, the Lewis family, owners of one of the first general stores downtown, bought the land and unsuccessfully attempted to parcel it for home development. In 1920, Charles Hall (the developer of Lakewood Estates) cut a channel from Big Bayou to Little Bayou which transformed the peninsula into an island. At this point, it was called Lewis Island. It was not until 1955, when the Mackle brother (for which Elkcam Boulevard was named) purchased most of the island and started what is today’s community. In 1957, the Mackle brothers sold the land they did not develop to Irvin Gree and associates, who decided to change the name. A contest was held to establish the new name and from 10,000 entries St. Petersburg officials selected Coquina Key. The Mahaffey family bought property on the southeast end of the island in 1971 and built the first of two apartment complexes. The second was completed in 1979 on the northwest end. In 1973, the city of St. Petersburg acquired land from the Florida Power Employees Club.
That land is now our current park.
The Coquina Key Neighborhood Association, established in 1958, provides a united voice for neighborhood issues that affect our residents. An effective and active neighborhood association creates a sense of community for our neighborhood. It forges working relationships with the City, fosters civic participation, and promotes island beautification and pride by encouraging quality housing that reinforces the pride of ownership & unique charm of our island neighborhood.
A spacious city park is located on Big Bayou. It offers two lighted soccer fields, four lighted tennis courts, a basketball court, a fitness course, children's playground, fishing dock and a scenic view of the bayou.